Weird Noir

Amzfinalweird_noir

Very excited to have my hardboiled Godzilla fiction included in the Weird Noir anthology, edited and conceived by the amazing K.A. Laity. I love S.L. Johnson’s cover, too.

Both “Three Kings” and “A Mark In Blue” were originally written for my zine Monstress, but I re-edited them and, I think, improved them immensely for this collection.

You can pick up Weird Noir at Amazon.

Updated: Print edition now available!

And check out Ms. Laity’s post, “What Is Weird Noir” at her website.

When I wrote up the pitch for the Weird Noir anthology, I used this description: ‘On the gritty backstreets of a crumbling city, tough dames and dangerous men trade barbs, witticisms and a few gunshots. But there’s a new twist where urban decay meets the eldritch borders of another world: WEIRD NOIR. Featuring thugs who sprout claws and fangs, gangsters with tentacles and the occasional succubus siren: The ambience is pure noir but the characters aren’t just your average molls and mugs—the vamps might just be vamps. It’s Patricia Highsmith meets Shirley Jackson or Dashiell Hammett filtered through H. P. Lovecraft. Mad, bad and truly dangerous to know, but irresistible all the same.’ Honestly, I had no idea what I’d get for submissions, but the results exceeded my expectations. This is a lean, mean, uncanny collection of tales that surprise, alarm and delight. The stories have oodles of atmosphere and just the right chill of the uncanny.

Leave a Reply

