Mustachio’ed Skull & Prototypical Homunuculus

When I realized that The Cultural Gutter was going to have to try one more time to raise funds with Indiegogo, I decided I would try to make the campaign a little more fun for me. Part of that has been crazy talk. Most recently, it’s been crazy talk taking form as perks: The Super Gutter Package, which includes a copy of The Cultural Gutter book, one of my Cthulhu moleskines, Shelf Life CC’s groovy campaign poster and a papier-maché skull that I’m painting with a mustache.

I have actually intended to make skulls with facial hair for a while now. I made one a few years ago for a friend and since then, I’ve been waiting for the papier-maché skulls I’ve accumulated to whisper to me their secret facial hair dreams. The one I started this week initially seemed like a David Niven fellow, but he’s headed more towards Peter Hooten in Dr. Strange (1978). The woman I made him for, feels he looks very Inigo Montoya. So I think I’m done with his ‘stache and need to make up my mind about his teeth.

Today I started on another perk idea that initially started as crazy talk–a little clay homunculus. A friend was concerned that if he donated to The Cultural Gutter, he would recieve our “Eternal & Undying Thanks” (available for as little as $1) and would be pestered after death. I had assumed, as one would, that he would be buried in accordance with The Egyptian Book of the Dead and have shabtis in his burial chamber to deal with unpleasant afterlife tasks. So, these shabtis are now homunculi that can also be used for shabtis.

This also resulted in my favorite Gutter-A-Go-Go Raids Again pitch so far:

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 9.19.44 PM

And here are some pictures of my first attempt at a clay homunculus in process. Obviously, these exhibit only the exoteric materials. I think I’m going to attach the limbs with copper white and paint the whole thing white with very minimalist features.

If you’d like to receive either of these perks, or one of the Cthulhu Moleskines, or just donate to The Cultural Gutter‘s indiegogo campaign, please click through to Gutter-A-Go-Go Raids Again!

Leave a Reply

