Holy Cats, I’m on the CBC!

Holy cats, I was on CBC Radio talking about horror! A producer from Day 6 with Brent Bambury wrote me after the excellent film critic Kimberly Lindbergs recommended me for a short piece on horror movies directed by women. Debbie the producer had read my friend Colin Geddes’ Review piece gathering spooky resources for Halloween and decided to put together a segment on women in horror.

Click through to listen and see the trailers for the films I recommend.

One thing I do regret not mentioning is that with The Babadook and Goodnight Mommy, horror from outside North America being quite successful with North American audiences–and with Goodnight Mommy and A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night being successful foreign language films.

Here’s an illustration for my anecdote about seeing Andy Warhol’s Frankenstein (1973).

Seen far too young.
Seen far too young.

 

You can read Colin’s Review piece here.

And Kimberly Lindbergs’ “10 Trailblazing Horror Movies Directed By Women” here.

Leave a Reply

